Keeping Brigid after Imbolc

Yes, She is ever-present and ever-renews Herself in our world, as each morning’s rising sun, the re-kindled hearth fires, inspiration gleaned from inspirational poetry & art, and the constant creation & re-creation of Life, the energy & power of the universe. Hail Brìde, Life’s Living One!

Parting the Mists

Brigid before me,

Brigid beside me,

Brigid behind me.

I am under the shielding

Of good Brigid

Each day and each night.

This is my nightly prayer – though often said in my mind rather than with my mouth – as well as my charm of protection whenever the need arises for one.

This came to me many years ago after first reading “The Descent of Brigid,” based on verses in the Carmina Gadelica, as well as several other protective charms to the Irish goddess and saint called Brigid, Brigit, Brig, or Bride, depending on your preference. If you are unfamiliar with this deity, this article on The Order of Bards, Ovates & Druids is a good place to catch up.

Many people remember Brigid at her February festival of Imbolc, which many of us celebrated last week. We make a Brigid’s cross or bed, maybe eat some dairy-based dishes, sing…

View original post 665 more words

2 thoughts on “Keeping Brigid after Imbolc

Leave a Reply

